The Tony Drinan Award


As a perpetual memorial to an exceptional Mentonian and to recognise the accomplishments of former Mentone Grammar students, the ‘Tony Drinan Award’ is awarded each year to a past student who, in the opinion of the Selection Committee, has achieved outstanding success, bringing honour to the School and service to the community. If you know of any worthy candidates, please contact The Mentonians Office.

For more information about the 2021 presentation and eligibility criteria, please click here.

Past Tony Drinan Award Recipients:
Year AwardedNameAlumni YearContribution
2001Professor Glenn Bowes AO1966Medicine, Specialist in Paediatrics
2002Ret Brig J Deighton A.M., M.C. 1952Australian Defence Forces - Retired CEO Victorian RSL HQ
2003The Very Rev. Dr John Shepherd AM1959Anglican Dean of Perth
2004 Don Ingram OAM1955Education
2005Emeritus Professor Don Gartside1964Environmental Science and Management
2006Associate Professor Michael Woodward1971Specialist in Geriatric Medicine
2007Mr Geoff Ryan AM1965Education
2008Mr Phillip Hutson 1971Australian Federal Police
2009Mr Mal Walden1961Broadcasting and Television
2010Mr Adam Kilgour1982Australian Business & Politics
2011Colonel Andrew Hocking1989Australian Defence Forces
2012Associate Professor Andre La Gerche1991Medical Research in the field of Cardiology
2013Mr Shane Warne1987Australian Cricket & Founder of The Shane Warne Foundation
2014Mr James Riady1974International Business and philanthropic support for education
2015The Hon. Associate Justice Nemeer Mukhtar1975Supreme Court, Victoria
2016Professor Tim Brailsford1981Vice-Chancellor and President of Bond University
2017Sir Robert Jackson AC KCVO CMG OBE (Deceased)1928Former UN Under Secretary General
2018Mr Robert Nottle CBE1960International Financial Services
2019Mr John Firth1969Contribution to Education and Curriculum
2020Mr Steven Warrington AFSM1978Country Fire Authority (CFA)