Mentone Grammar

Mr Geoff Ryan AM

Chair (Class of 1965)

AM. JP. B.Com. B.Ed, Grad. Dip Curriculum. Dip Ed. FACE FACEL

Geoff Ryan is the current Chair of the Mentone Grammar Foundation.

Geoff is a former teacher in Independent Schools in Australia and England. He was Principal of Westbourne Grammar School for 21 years and prior to that Deputy Principal at St Michael’s Grammar School. Geoff commenced his teaching career at Mentone Grammar and taught commercial subjects at the school from 1970 to 1982. He also held the positions of Head of the Commerce Department, Director of Learning and Officer Commanding the school Cadet Unit.

Since retiring from teaching Geoff has worked as CEO for the Association of Heads of Independent Schools of Australia (AHISA) and currently works part-time as an industry liaison manager for an education Industry Superannuation Fund.

Geoff is a former National Chair of AHISA, was a founding Director of the Australian Institute of Teaching and School Leadership, is a fellow of the Australian College of Education, and a Fellow of the Australian College of Educational Leaders. Geoff attended Mentone Grammar School and was Head Prefect in 1965. He has been a Board member since 2011 and was Chair from 2017 to 2022. Geoff’s interests include golf, travel, music, and theatre.

He was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in 2016 for service to Education.